Tivo vs DVD Player/Recorder

Posted by: phi144

Tivo vs DVD Player/Recorder - 10/11/2003 15:40

I'm just starting out researching the Tivo and had a thought. Would it be better to get a Tivo or DVD Player/Recorder?

The advantages of having the player/recorder is

1) I can keep certain things as DVD's.
2) If I record something upstairs i can just take out and put it in the DVD downstairs and pop it in my DVD player to watch.

Do you have to have the Tivo subscription to record programs or can I just manually set up a record time. I wouldn't record enough to justify the service. By the way if it is possible to record without a subscription, is that legal?

These are just some preliminary questions. If some of you have opinions on what I should do please let me know.

Thanks,
Posted by: mschrag

Re: Tivo vs DVD Player/Recorder - 10/11/2003 15:47

TiVo is awesome and changed my life. I highly recommend it. And I also recommend that you get the subscription, because I think you /think/ you won't record much, but tivo might convince you otherwise

However, if you do want to drop the subscription, then TiVo doesn't get you /too/ much over the player/recorder. w/o subscription you lose guide data, so you can only setup manual records. I think you still get pause/rewind/etc of live tv, but i almost never /watch/ live tv, so I don't know for sure.

Anyway, as with almost any TiVo user, I'm completely passionate about the product but I find it impossible to easily convince people to get it other than to say you won't regret it and two months from now you'll wonder how you survived without it

ms
Posted by: Attack

Re: Tivo vs DVD Player/Recorder - 10/11/2003 15:48

The newer TiVo's will not record without service. I know a few people that love the TiVo and only have about 5 shows that they record. If I didn't have a TiVo this is what I would be buying Pioneer Progressive-Scan DVD Recorder with TiVo Series2 unless I had HDTV available in my area.