Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#255467 - 04/05/2005 15:25 Ohhh....Bluetooth
topperge
new poster

Loc: Michigan, USA
I don't know if you guys have seen it yet, however, there is a new serial based bluetooth module available at:
http://redferret.net/?p=5131
On the same day another company released a bluetooth OBD Transmitter:
http://www.vitalengineering.co.uk/
and we all have bluetooth phones by now right??

My empeg is long gone (I'm kicking myself now because I have a lot of bluetooth background) but it looks like you guys could have one hell of a project on your hands. Good luck if anyone wants to pick it up.

Matt

#255468 - 04/05/2005 15:50 Re: Ohhh....Bluetooth [Re: topperge]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Loc: Providence, RI
Well, is that device more than a serial bridge? I want to talk to my phone via bluetooth, namely, do dialup networking, but none of the serial modules claim to do it, maybe they can, but they don't say so and my willingness to randomly buy hardware and try is low right now.

#255469 - 04/05/2005 16:07 Re: Ohhh....Bluetooth [Re: Daria]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Why can you now not talk to your phone via Bluetooth? If there's no builtin Bluetooth, then the usual course of action is a USB dongle. No USB?

I seriously doubt that this product does anything but provide a Serial Bluetooth service. Your computer still won't think that it has a Bluetooth port. So unless the phone will connect to that service and you can then do PPP over it or something, I doubt this will do what you want. But, again, there's probably a better way. But, again again, you probably already know that and I don't know what the obstacle is.

#255470 - 04/05/2005 16:17 Re: Ohhh....Bluetooth [Re: Daria]
cushman
veteran

Loc: Erie, CO